Lesson Lineup vs Teachworks
Teachworks charges per lesson. A solo teacher's bill should not grow with the timetable.
Teachworks is a platform for teaching businesses — tutoring centres, music schools, driving schools — with unlimited teachers, branches and an API, priced as a base fee plus a charge on every lesson every student attends. Lesson Lineup is for one teacher, at one flat price, and does a great deal less.
Teachworks figures read from their public pricing page, September 2026. They are theirs to change — confirm there before deciding.
Per month, one weekly lesson per student
- Teachworks, 30 students $57.77
- Teachworks, 20 students $44.01
- Teachworks, 10 students $30.25
- Lesson Lineup, any number $6.99$9.99 after 12 billed months
$444.24 a year less than Teachworks Starter for twenty students, over your first twelve billed months at the founder rate.
Teachworks Starter is $16.49 plus $0.32 per student lesson; a weekly lesson is about 4.3 a month. A student on two lessons a week, or a group of three, counts each attendance. Their Growth and Premium plans lower the per-lesson charge at a higher base fee.
The decision
Stay on Teachworks, or switch to Lesson Lineup?
Teachworks is a good fit for the businesses it is built for. The left box is what it does that Lesson Lineup does not, from their own pages.
Stay on Teachworks if…
- you have, or plan to have, more than one teacher, a room to book, or a second location.
- your families pay online through it.
- lesson reminders and status updates go out from it automatically and you are not going to send them yourself.
- you use Google Calendar sync or any of its integrations.
- you invoice in more than one currency, or need the API.
Switch to Lesson Lineup if…
- you are one teacher and the per-lesson charge is the part of the bill that keeps growing.
- you take payment by cash, transfer or card reader and need it recorded, not processed.
- you want practice minutes and repertoire on the student's record — Lesson Lineup is built for music lessons, not lessons in general.
- you want a cancellation policy that is a setting on the attendance status, not a conversation.
- you teach somewhere the signal drops and need the register to work anyway.
Side by side
| What | Lesson Lineup | Teachworks |
|---|---|---|
| Free trial | 30 days, no card | 21 days |
| Price, one teacher | $6.99 a month for the first 12 billed months (sign up on or before 25 December 2026), then $9.99 — regardless of how many students or lessons | Starter: $16.49 a month plus $0.32 per student lesson. Growth: $47.99 plus $0.189. Premium: $187.99 plus $0.065 |
| Twenty students, weekly lessons | $6.99 | About $44.01 on Starter (86 student lessons) |
| Teachers, staff, locations | One teacher; no staff logins; no locations beyond the one on each lesson | Unlimited teachers and user accounts on every plan; branch accounts on Premium |
| Scheduling | Recurring series to a repeat-until date, single-lesson moves, "this and following" edits, double-booking warning before save | Individual and group lessons, teacher availability, room bookings |
| Cancellation policy | Each attendance status carries its own billable answer and whether it issues a make-up credit | Not detailed on the pages read |
| Practice log and repertoire | Yes — sessions per student, days this week and in 30, average a day; pieces with status | Not a music-specific product; not listed |
| Invoicing | Raised by the teacher from the family ledger, in the studio's own layout; USD or the studio's own currency | Billing and invoicing; clients charged in their local currency (CAD, GBP, EUR, AUD) |
| Families pay online through it | No — recorded after the fact | Yes |
| Reminders and announcements | Nothing is sent | Automated lesson reminders, status updates, announcements; unlimited emails under fair use |
| Integrations | None | Google Calendar and "more than 80 free integrations"; API on Growth and Premium |
| Works with no connection | Yes — the register, payments and moves commit locally and sync later | Not stated on the pages read; assume it needs a connection |
| Bringing your data in | Expenses from CSV only; students, families and history are typed in | Not stated on the pages read |
"Not stated on the pages read" means exactly that: their pricing and home pages did not say, and we did not guess. Their help centre will; it is the better source for their side than we are.
Questions
Is Lesson Lineup affiliated with Teachworks?
No. Lesson Lineup is an independent product with no connection to Teachworks. Their name appears on this page only so teachers comparing the two can see the differences side by side.
What does Teachworks cost a solo music teacher?
As read from their pricing page in September 2026, Starter is $16.49 a month plus $0.32 for each lesson each student attends. Twenty students with one weekly lesson each is about 86 student lessons a month, so about $44.01. Lesson Lineup is a flat $6.99 a month for the first twelve billed months, then $9.99.
Who should not switch from Teachworks to Lesson Lineup?
Anyone with more than one teacher or location, anyone whose families pay online through it, and anyone who relies on its reminders, calendar sync or integrations. Lesson Lineup has none of those.
Can Lesson Lineup import my Teachworks data?
No. Only expenses import from CSV; students, families and lesson history are typed in. The switching guide is written for MyMusicStaff but the sequence — run both for a month, cut over on an invoice boundary — is the same from anywhere.
Run Lesson Lineup beside Teachworks for 30 days.
Your Teachworks account is untouched and no card is asked for. If the left-hand box above turns out to be you, you have lost nothing but the afternoon.
$6.99 a month for your first 12 billed months if you sign up on or before 25 December 2026, $9.99 after that. See also the other comparisons.